Home | SearchFAQ You are not logged in: Register | Log In

Please Read:
An important message from System 7 Today founder Dan Palka

Topic: PB 1400 & OS 7.5.3 (Page 1 of 2)
Post ReplyGo to page 1, 2  Next
  System777 (Profile)
  32 MB

Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:19 am

So I now own a Powerbook 1400c/133 that's running OS 8.6, which is a cool OS, but I find that it's just way too slow. I'd like to downgrade to OS 7.5.3. I downloaded the 19 free 7.5.3 images from Apple's website onto my PC. My question is, what is the next step? Can I just copy these files to floppies from my IBM-PC and then copy them to the Powerbook's hard drive? Or would I do better to burn a CD? Then once I have the images on the Powerbook, what utility/procedure do I need to run to get the ball rolling? My background is PC, so some of this new to me.

Thanks!

David

wove (Profile)

Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:36 pm

System777 wrote:

So I now own a Powerbook 1400c/133 that's running OS 8.6, which is a cool OS, but I find that it's just way too slow. I'd like to downgrade to OS 7.5.3. I downloaded the 19 free 7.5.3 images from Apple's website onto my PC. My question is, what is the next step? Can I just copy these files to floppies from my IBM-PC and then copy them to the Powerbook's hard drive? Or would I do better to burn a CD? Then once I have the images on the Powerbook, what utility/procedure do I need to run to get the ball rolling? My background is PC, so some of this new to me.

The images are floppy sized so they can be transfered using a floppy drive, however they do not need to be put on floppies to be useful. Probably the easiest way to transfer the files is to burn the 19 images onto a CD right on the PC. The Powerbook running OS 8.6 should be able to read the CD.