Home | SearchFAQ You are not logged in: Register | Log In

Please Read:
An important message from System 7 Today founder Dan Palka

Topic: HELP!! Umax on the internet threw use of an eathercard (Page 1 of 3)
Post ReplyGo to page 1, 2, 3  Next
  besby11 (Profile)
  4 MB

Posted: Sat May 13, 2006 11:12 pm

Hello and thanks for reading my post,

I've accuired an umax supermac s900 (I think?) from a frend that got it from a workplace.It seems to be in perfict order disks, floppys...exc.and im getting a mac mouse from ebay and that should be here any day.But,with the the mouse I also got a apple pci eather-card,the tower has a pci slot and want to hook it up to my router for my bother to use.So im new the the whole Mac thing Razz Razz BUT LOVEING IT Razz Razz and since im a toltal noob at this knda thing i was wondering could someone tell me if this possibe in anyway, and if so can someone point me in the directon of how to do this.Im sorry if this isent mutch info i cant look at the info without any mouse.P.S.The comp came with mac 7.5.5 hope that helps.

Pierre Films (Profile)
  16 MB

Posted: Sun May 14, 2006 1:00 am

I'm guessing by hooking it up to your router, you wish to get it online. This will obviously be easier once you get your mouse (Wink), but basically if you have DSL you should be able to go into TCP/IP (located in the Control Panels) and select the ethernet card. Then select Using DHCP Server in the Configure menu. Close out, save settings, and you should be able to connect (provided that you have a browser). Hope that helps. :)

Pierre Films Idea

dpaanlka (Profile)
  1024 MB

Posted: Sun May 14, 2006 4:09 am

Apple PCI Ether-card?

Edit: Is that what it says on the card?

What options do you have in the "Connect via:" drop down menu near the top of the TCP/IP control panel window?

If you have a PCI ethernet card, one of the options should be "Ethernet" of some sort, possibly followed by "slot 0B" or something similar.

bd1308 (Profile)
  128 MB