Home | SearchFAQ You are not logged in: Register | Log In

Please Read:
An important message from System 7 Today founder Dan Palka

Topic: Help installing Flash Player 5 and Speed Doubler 8 (Page 1 of 3)
Post ReplyGo to page 1, 2, 3  Next
  Heironimus (Profile)
  8 MB

Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:15 pm

I recently obtained a PowerMac 9500 and I have upgraded its OS to System 7.6.1, but am having a little trouble installing some of the items available on this fine website. I am new to Macintosh, so I apologize if I ask some dumb questions.

The specific two items I am having trouble with are the Flash Player 5 (flashplayer5.sit) and the Speed Doubler 8 (sd8.sit) downloads. When I try to open them with Stuffit Expander 5.5 (also obtained from this site) I get the following error: The application “unknown” has unexpectedly quit, because an error of type 3 occurred.

Other *.sit files have worked fine. It is just the two I have listed above that give me trouble.

Any advice or assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt

dpaanlka (Profile)
  1024 MB

Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:33 pm

What browser did you use to download them? Perhaps they are incomplete, and a re-downoad is in order?

I don't believe anybody has ever reported this problem before.

Wast this a clean install of 7.6.1? Or did you upgrade from a previous version that was already installed on the computer?

Heironimus (Profile)
  8 MB

Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 7:23 pm

I upgraded from System 7.5.3 to 7.5.5 to 7.6 to 7.6.1 over the course of the last few weeks.

I have tried downloading it with IE Version 5.01 and Netscape 4. They both seem to have the same problem.

Heironimus (Profile)
  8 MB

Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 7:26 pm

Actually I did do I clean install when I installed 7.6 (the installer created a new system folder and renamed the old one).

Heironimus (Profile)
  8 MB

Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 8:03 pm