Home | SearchFAQ You are not logged in: Register | Log In

Please Read:
An important message from System 7 Today founder Dan Palka

Topic: What is the oldest Mac you use daily? (Page 1 of 4)
Post ReplyGo to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
  aftermac (Profile)
  8 MB

Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:13 pm

What is the oldest Mac you use on a daily basis? I have been remodeling my home office in the basement for the past 2 years, which I expect to have completed this spring, and I am trying to decide what computers I want to setup. I expect to have 6-10 computers setup, that I can and will swap out as needed. Of my Mac's, I am considering my Quadra 950, 605, 700, IIsi, IIci with A/UX, SE/30, Classic, Plus, etc...

I'm mainly wondering what others are doing with their systems, and if they are being used daily and productively?

Thanks!

theos911 (Profile)
  8 MB

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:46 am

My Powerbook G3 Wallstreet running 9.2.2 and MintPPC 11 is my main mobile machine. The WS runs off a Compact Flash card and is quiet, wifi provided by an Orinoco Gold in both OSs.

I keep my Dell Latitude C810 that I brought back from the dead on standby in case the WS has a snitfit on me. The Latitude runs Linux Mint 9.

My main mac desktop is a B&W G3 running MintPPC 11 and eventually I'll get 10.4.11 back on there.

So long as I keep my ][e or ][gs handy, I'm often tempted to write some applesoft BASIC when the idea pops into my head. I have many other 68k & PPC macs, but alas, they usually just sit.

aftermac (Profile)
  8 MB

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:05 pm

I'll definitely keep a IIe setup... I've currently got one setup as a terminal to my G5, but I enjoy firing up an ocassional game, or writing something in BASIC. I've never had a IIgs as part of a permanent setup, so I'll have to think about that.