Home | SearchFAQ You are not logged in: Register | Log In

Please Read:
An important message from System 7 Today founder Dan Palka

Topic: HELP! Beginer on Macintosh SE FDHD (Page 1 of 1)
  bumfilur (Profile)
  1 MB

Posted: Mon May 26, 2014 2:39 pm

Hi, Im new to vintage computers and i just received my Macintosh SE FDHD/SuperDrive and it worked completely fine until i played a game that frozed it so i needed to cut the power and when it started up again a floppy disk with a flashing question mark on it. And i have read that if i wanna fix it i need to put a program called Disk Tools on a floppy disk and boot, but when i boot on it it says in a window "Welcome to Macintosh" and it flashes and doesn't boot. i tried download it from many different websites but it didn't work. Then i tried to boot in system 6.0.8 but it just eject the disk and it could be because of the way i do it i download the 6.0.8 System Startup image and i mount it i drag everything from it over to my HFS formatted 1.44MB floppy drive and then i put it in the computer and it just eject it and i know i can just re-install the os but i don't wanna lose my documents and the language (Danish/Dansk) on it because i can't find the same language on the internet i found it on one website where every language was but when i clicked on Dansk OS 6.0.8 it says access denied so i really don't know what to do and I'm really sad. I also saw one that had a box on-top of his Macintosh SE FDHD/SuperDrive and it said on it System Saver SE his mac frozed and then he clicked the button and it restarted without getting damaged so i really want one if i get my mac up and running again.

- bumfilur

feeef (Profile)
  64 MB

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 4:29 pm

Hi Bumfilur,