Home | SearchFAQ You are not logged in: Register | Log In

Please Read:
An important message from System 7 Today founder Dan Palka

Topic: Need help with my 8500/120 (Page 1 of 2)
Post ReplyGo to page 1, 2  Next
  jmarran14221 (Profile)
  16 MB

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:18 pm

HELP!!! I have a Powermac 8500/120 upgraded to a G3/300 with a NewerTech card. I have 336 MB of RAM. I also have 2 HDD installed. My main OS is 9.1. Problem is...is that I downloaded 7.5.3 from Apple's website. When I unzipped everything, I chose the Universal Installation for ANY Mac. After installing, I chose the 7.5.3 disk with Startup Disk. The Mac starts...and then I get a warning message stating that it is the "wrong startup disk". What does this mean? I am new to Mac, but it seems that a Universal Install would work on this machine. What am I doing wrong?

HELP!!!

dpaanlka (Profile)
  1024 MB

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:22 pm

Did you install over your current installation, or did you choose to perform a clean install?

You should have been able to make a floppy disk called "Disk Tools" - use this to boot your computer.

Once you boot from the Disk Tools disk (whichever one of the two is appropriate for your system) you should initialize (format) your hard drive and then install a clean copy of the OS.

I'm not entirely familiar with the 7.5.x installer as 7.6 is entirely different (much easier).

jmarran14221 (Profile)
  16 MB

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:34 pm

After initialization, can I install 7 from within 9.1???

wove (Profile)

Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:35 pm

jmarran14221 wrote: